MacCaLM Team win Frontiers of Knowledge Award


MacCaLM Principal Investigator, Professor John Moore and Co-Investigator Professor Nobuhiro Kiyotaki have won the prestigious 2020 BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award.

They win the award jointly with Professor Ben Bernanke, Distinguished Fellow in Residence with the Economic Studies Program at the Brookings Institution and Professor Mark Gertler, Henry and Lucy Moses Professor of Economics at New York University.

The award citation reads: “Professors Ben Bernanke, Mark Gertler, Nobuhiro Kiyotaki and John Moore have made fundamental contributions to our understanding of how financial market imperfections can amplify macroeconomic fluctuations and generate deep macroeconomic recessions.”

The BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards are intended to recognise basic research and creative work of excellence as embedded in theoretical advances, models and fundamental perspectives for an improved understanding of the natural, social and artificial or technological worlds, technological innovations and developments, and the creation of outstanding works or new artistic or interpretative styles in contemporary classical music. The previous winners of the Frontiers of Knowledge Award for economics are Jean Tirole (2008), Andreu Mas-Colell and Hugo Sonnenschein (2009), Lars Hansen (2010), Sir Angus Deaton (2011), Paul Milgrom (2012), Elhanan Helpman (2013), Sir Richard Blundell and David Card (2014), Robert Wilson (2015), Daron Acemoglu (2016), Robert Porter, Ariel Pakes and Timothy Bresnahan (2017), Claudia Goldin (2018), Philippe Aghion and Peter Howitt (2019).

Together with Nobuhiro Kiyotaki, John Moore previously won the 1999 Yrjö Jahnsson Award from the European Economic Association and the 2010 Stephen A. Ross Prize in Financial Economics.

On receiving his award, John Moore said “I am overwhelmed to have received this great honour, especially with my friend Nobu.  It will encourage us to continue our work together.”

Everyone on the MacCaLM project offers warm congratulations to Professors Moore and Kiyotaki on this remarkable achievement.

You can read the full award citation here.